Primary Education

Primary education in Ireland consists of eight years of schooling spread over four levels/stages-junior infants to sixth class. The Primary Curriculum (1999) is presented in seven curriculum areas comprising 12 subjects. The Irish primary education system aims to provide a holistic education to enable children to live their lives to the full and to realise their potential as unique individuals.



The Primary School Curriculum was developed by the NCCA and launched in 1999. The issue of curriculum overload resulted in the re-presentation of materials for a number of subjects.

Assessment, Reporting and Transfer


Find out more about the range of supports for schools using assessment as part of daily classroom practice.

Review and research

Primary Review and Research

Check out published documents that focus on a range of issues concerning the development of primary education.

Aistear - Curriculum Framework


Aistear is the early childhood curriculum framework for all children from birth to six years.